Post-Baby Bombshell

IMG_2288

I’ve always had a soft spot for vintage styled bathing suits.  And I’d been obsessing over ClosetCaseFiles Bombshell Bathing Suit for months.  I finally took the plunge and bought it (along with the Nettie Bodysuit) when I realized that the high-waisted bikini bottoms would be PERFECT for camouflaging my post-baby belly and the dark purple stretch marks that are currently snaking around my belly button.  This being my second baby, I know these marks will fade and the pooky tum will (hopefully) tighten up.  But in the meantime, I wanted to feel confident at the beach for summer 2014.

I was very fortunate in that my hips didn’t change size at all during pregnancy or post-partum.  Still a 38″.  So I cut a size 10 for the hips, but then graded up to a 12 for the waist (as I’m still carrying some baby weight, but seriously the Little Dude is only 8 weeks old!).  I probably should have cut an even larger size at the waist, perhaps even a 14 or 16, but I read lots of reviews that said the suit is quit stretchy and forgiving.  Besides, I’d like to still wear it if/when I get back to my regular size.

IMG_2282

I ordered the fabric online from Girl Charlee (love love LOVE this site).  The only crap thing is the shipping to Canada is based on weight and can be super frigging expensive.  Especially since I ordered a shit-ton of fabric.  We live quite close to the US border so we decided to do a bunch of online shopping, and then have it shipped to a PO box in Point Roberts, WA.  Now THAT was an adventure… Two adults, a “potty-trained” toddler, a newborn, and a large breed dog all crammed into a Honda Fit.  I think next time I’ll send hubs down alone.

Today is our 6-year wedding anniversary (yay!) so we celebrated by having a picnic supper at Lucille Lake near Squamish.  It was our first time there, and we will definitely be back.   A nice sandy beach with warm water.  Gorgeous.  Anyhoo, I don’t have too much more to say about the awesome awesome pattern except “Go getcha some!”

IMG_2286  IMG_2283 IMG_2284IMG_2285

Here’s a pic my hubby snapped on the way out:

IMG_2311

 

And here’s one of Luna dog.  What a sexy beast.

IMG_2301

 

Happy Saturday everyone!

xxx

Caramia

 

2 thoughts on “Post-Baby Bombshell

  1. Absolutely love your Bombshell bikini bottoms! I have this pattern also and am now super motivated to make the bottoms as I also have had two kids and the resulting accompany stretch marks;)
    Looks like you did a great job!

    Like

Leave a Reply

