This Is Not A Christmas Post… Well, Not Exactly

I love this time of year.  I really do.  But the past few winters of living on the South Coast have made it tough to be excited for Christmas.  I have to force it.  The non-stop rain, grey days, rainfall warnings, flooding, lack of snow…  Now that my Little Miss is nearly 3 (!!!) she is beyond excited for Santa.  She loves the lights that brighten up the wet, dark nights.  The music playing in Walmart (wow Mommy, another Santa song!). And of course all the treats and yummy foods at holiday parties.

And yet, even though I am feeling MUCH more into it this year, there have been some really sad things happen   to some close friends of mine.  People have lost their parents to cancer or other illnesses.  Other people in their late 20’s or early 30’s have lost a spouse.  And most recently, a very good friend of mine and my husband’s lost his brother quite suddenly.  Now the bright lights and holiday spirit don’t seem to matter so much anymore.  Or do they?

IMG_20141218_202526~2[1]

In Canada, we celebrate Thanksgiving in October.  So by the time Christmas rolls around, we’ve kind of forgotten about all the things to be thankful for.  These past few weeks have really reminded me of it.  I can’t stop thinking about my friend’s mom, and how awful it must be to lose a child.  For the past few nights while I’ve been nursing our Little Dude, tears fall silently onto my pillow.  When I burp him, I hug him so tightly I worry I will crush him.  I cuddle my Little Miss while we watch cartoons together, or I kiss her hair over and over while she sits in my lap reading books.  I listen to my husband laughing and playing with her while she’s in the bath.  It makes my heart so happy I could weep.  I really am so lucky.  I have no idea why.  But I am so aware of it this year and I am a blessed woman to have such a wonderful family to share it with.

So just take a moment to reflect this holiday season… Count your blessings.  Kiss your kids.  Wrestle with your dog.  Dance with your significant other like a dork in the kitchen.  Phone a loved one just to hear their voice.  Try not to get too caught up in the busyness of it all, and just take a minute to breathe.

IMG_20141218_202616~2[1]

Wishing all the best to you and yours,

xxx

Caramia

One thought on “This Is Not A Christmas Post… Well, Not Exactly

Leave a Reply

