Little Miss turns 3

Greetings!  Hope everyone had a lovely holiday season / end of 2014 / beginning of 2015.  Our household came down with that nasty cold/flu virus that was going around.  So we spent the better part of the past month being sick.  Yuck.  Despite this, I managed to make my sweet little girl a party dress for her 3rd birthday (3!!!  I can hardly believe it already!).

Nova birthday dress2

I used the bodice and sleeves of the Crossover Tee pattern from Growing Up Sew Liberated, and shortened the back piece to match the bodice front pieces.  I then used 2 giant rectangles of fabric to make a gathered dirndl-style skirt.  The dress is made from some fabulous feather print jersey knit from Girl Charlee.

Nova birthday dress

Hubby and I got her a dollhouse for her birthday and a couple of Barbies to go along with it.  Needless to say, we hit it out of the park with the gift, haha!

Nova birthday dress3

I had big plans to make myself a matching bodysuit from ClosetCaseFiles Nettie pattern, but in my excitement to be using the awesome fabric I forgot to check to see if it had enough stretch.  Aaaaaand it doesn’t…  So now I’ve wasted the beautiful fabric.  Bah!  I posted the sewing fail on my Instagram account (@caramiamade) in case you’re curious.  Oh well, I guess life is full of ups and downs isn’t it?

Happy Monday everyone

xxx

Caramia

Leave a Reply

