Built By Wendy – Hothouse Flowers Dress

Being a mom of two little kids (ages 3 years, and 8 months) I don’t really have much time to sew…  Nor take photos of the items I do complete!  I made this dress last spring while I was very pregnant with my son.  We’ve been having a really nice spell of weather at the moment, so I snuck outside during naptime to grab a couple of photos.  Sorry for the poor quality, I had to use my cell phone because my hubby took the camera out of town for the weekend.

B&W

It’s the Hothouse Flowers project from the Built By Wendy Dresses sewing book.  I’ve had this excellent book for a few years now and have made a couple of projects from it.  I was curious about how the Hothouse Flowers dress would look in real life, but many Google searches turned up nothing.  Has no one ever attempted this dress??!?!!?

Hothouse Flowers

I realize an open-side dress is not for everyone, but let me tell ya – you’re missing out!  My little dude was born at the end of June last summer, just in time for a crazy heat wave.  I wasn’t able to fit my post-partum body into much, but this loose cotton dress was pretty forgiving.  And the open sides were fantastic air-conditioning, ha ha ha.

IMG_20150220_164721~2

I made this dress in a size small (based on my pre-pregnancy measurements) and used a lightweight black cotton eyelet I bought at Mill End in Portland a few years ago during our summer hols.  I also used a black lace that I had in my fabric stash.

IMG_20150220_165005~3

In addition to free air-conditioning, the wrap-style bodice and open sides provide easy access to the bewbs for nursing.  But if breastfeeding bebes is not your cup of tea, the open sides also provide a cheeky way to show off a pretty bralette.  Since pretty much the entire sewing world has been taken over by the Watson bra, this summer dress would be a great way to tastefully show off your handiwork.  And you’re welcome!

IMG_20150220_164633~2

Happy Saturday everyone!

xxx

Caramia

One thought on “Built By Wendy – Hothouse Flowers Dress

  1. Hi there, I just made this after seeing your gorgeous version on IG and I’m.not sure how I feel about my version. The sewing of lace on seemed to have stretch out the bias edges so much I almost need darts in it lol. I thought I was safe not stay stitching because sewing on the lace would do the stabilising, but I’ve learnt my lesson lol

    I too couldn’t believe there was no internet love for this dress. I love the idea of it though so I’ll likely do a Tim Gunn and “make it work”.

    Like

Leave a Reply

