Twirly Skirt Santa Monica Sweetheart Tankini

IMG_2863Summer is slowly winding down here in Sea to Sky country; the days are getting shorter, nights are cool and crisp, gardens are bursting with produce, everyone’s lawn is dead because of water restrictions… but the days are thankfully still quite warm and sunny.  We’ve been getting a lot of use out of our kiddie pool in the backyard for beating the heat.  Our Little Dude is still napping twice a day so we don’t often get out to the local lakes (or ocean!) that often, so we typically head down to the creek near our house or else pop out to the backyard.

It feels like I’m constantly washing swimsuits, so I decided to make another one for my Little Miss.  She is OBSESSED with dresses and skirts at the moment, and pretty much everything MUST be pink.  Unfortunately, I don’t have any pink swimsuit fabric in my stash.  I had just enough Girl Charlee fabric left over from my Drape Drape No 6 dress to eke out this tankini/skirt combo for Little Miss.  The self-drafted peplum skirt makes it acceptable LM attire ha ha ha.

I used the fantastic Santa Monica Sweetheart Tankini pattern from Peekaboo Patterns.  It was my second time making this pattern.  I’m not sure what’s going on with the size chart, but last summer I made LM a size 18 month (based on her measurements) and it was waaaaay too small for her.  So this time around I made a size 4T, which is the same as her RTW size.  And it fits perfectly!

IMG_2904

I used this Burdastyle tutorial on how to draft a peplum skirt.  As you can see by her smile, Little Miss adores the swimsuit and loves how twirly the skirt is.  My favourite part is actually the ties in the back.  It’s a tiny loop attached to the back of the top and then you simply thread the straps through and tie into a bow.  So cute!

IMG_2867IMG_2866IMG_2846

I hope you are all enjoying the last few days of summer (at least here in the northern hemisphere).  I suppose our friends south of the equator are eagerly anticipating Spring!

Happy Saturday everyone!

xxx

Caramia

Leave a Reply

